Noticias
 

Free Radical School Virtual Seminar: Chemical Biology of Peroxynitrite

Speaker: Gerardo Ferrer-Sueta, Ph.D., Universidad de la República – Uruguay

Wednesday, April 27, 2011. Length of session: 45 - 60 minutes
1:00 pm Eastern (12:00 pm Central, 11:00 am Mountain, 10:00 am Pacific; this is 17:00 GMT/UTC)

International attendees should convert the time accordingly.  

PROGRAM OVERVIEW:
Fundamentals of peroxynitrite chemistry
•Formation from radicals, decomposition to radicals
•Chemical properties

Chemical kinetics and peroxynitrite reactions relevant to biochemistry
•Carbon dioxide as a mediator to radical formation
•Thiol/selenol peroxidases as powerful scavengers and signaling intermediates
•Heme proteins and other metal centers

Scavenging by synthetic molecules
•Kinetics again, good scavengers have to be fast and efficient
•Reduction and isomerization by synthetic molecules

Tracking peroxynitrite in vivo
•Footprints, pharmacological intervention and attempts to quantitation

PROGRAM FORMAT:
Members can attend a SFRBM Virtual Free Radical School session right from your office or home. All you need to participate is a telephone and a computer with high speed internet connection. The audio is delivered over the telephone (toll-free). Registrants will be provided call in/login information 2-3 days prior to the session and a URL to access the presentation right on the web in real time.

COST:
There is no cost for SFRBM members to participate. The webinar is open to SFRBM members only. 

Click  HERE to register.

ABOUT THE SPEAKER:
Dr. Gerardo Ferrer-Sueta is currently Assistant Professor of Biological Physical Chemistry at the Universidad de la República in Montevideo. His research interests include peroxynitrite chemical biology and the mechanism of action of thiol peroxidases. Over the past 20 years, he has been committed to teaching diverse courses in topics covering General Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Chemical Kinetics, Fundamental Biochemistry, Biochemical Spectroscopy, Enzymology and Inorganic Biochemistry.

 

     
Free Radicals and Antioxidants Group, Chile
Fono/fax : (56-2) 354 2864
www.frag-chile.cl